Overview
You can adjust the following settings on a template level:
Template name
Workspace title
Workspace type
Enable/disable advanced features
Archive a template
In the guide below, we'll discuss each of these settings and their importance, so you can customize them to your liking.
Navigating to the Template Settings
Step 1: On the left-hand nav bar, click on Templates (found under Workspaces).
Step 2: Click on the desired template and then Settings.
Step 3: Adjust settings and click Publish Template.
Name, Type and Privacy Settings
Click on the pencil icon to edit the name, type, and privacy settings.
Name settings:
Template name = Internal name reps will see (i.e. 2026 Sales Template)
Workspace title = The customer facing title. We recommend adding in the dynamic variable {{account.name}} somewhere to automate the title. Once a workspace is created from a template, the title is then also automatically personalized to the client.
Internal visibility settings:
Private = only visible to you, the template creator, and admins.
Everyone = all users in your Dock environment.
Details
Decide what custom fields should be shown on the workspace, account and deal level on workspaces created from this template. You might want your onboarding team to reference and/or update different fields compared to your sales team.
Any fields you add/remove here will update in all spaces associated with the template immediately!
Sharing Settings
Set the default sharing setting for any space created from this template.
Don't want reps to be able to override what you set? There are toggles for this under Advanced! Lock in a share setting to set the expectation.
Slack
Set the default internal Slack channel to receive all alerts for workspaces created from this template. I.e. a customer-onboarding channel.
Teams
Set the default internal Teams channel to receive all alerts for workspaces created from this template. I.e. a customer-onboarding channel.
AI Chat
Enable customer-facing chat here for all workspaces created from this template!
Advanced Settings
Designating a Workspace Type
We highly recommend selecting a type (or multiple) for a space. This is helpful because you can customize your filtered views and look at Dock reporting based on these workspace types (and start tracking things like active implementations and implementation length).
Require a Deal
Typically used for the sales use case - if you'd like to track revenue then it can be helpful to require reps to link a deal to a space.
Enable/Disable Collaboration Mode
Turn off Collaboration to turn off messaging & section comments by default for spaces created from this template. This also turns off the viewer icons so visitors of a space can't see each other (similar to collaborating in a Google Doc). Workspace owners can override this setting once in the space.
Add Automation Rule
This is where you'd add a connected workspace automation rule (available on Premium & Enterprise plans)
Add Custom Code
Add custom code, such as a chat widget. Learn more here!











