Synced Sections

How to add and edit synced sections across Workspaces

Alex Kracov avatar
Written by Alex Kracov
Updated over a week ago

As discussed in creating section templates, these templates can be editable or synced.

  • Editable section templates operate like a normal section. You add them to a workspace and then they can be adjusted as needed.

  • Synced section templates are special sections. One update to a synced section will auto-populate changes across all active workspaces.

    • One common use case is for content. You can have your marketing team manage the content in a synced section to make sure it's up-to-date across all spaces. That way, all your team members need to do is pull it into the Workspace and it's good to go long-term!

Synced sections do not currently support project plans and related tasks. This is intentional as project plans and timelines are highly customized to the customer.


Adding Synced Sections to Workspaces

Any section template can be synced. To do so, follow the steps below:

Step 1: Navigate to the desired Workspace and click Add section on the desired page.

Step 2: Select from Company templates or My Templates to find the desired section

Step 3: Select the template and click the Add to workspace button on the top right

Step 4: When you add to the workspace, select the Add synced section option

Now, when this section is added to the workspace, you'll see a blue box around it. This blue box prevents anyone from editing the section and shows that it's a synced section.


How to Update Synced Sections

Synced sections can only be edited from the template library. To update them, follow the steps below:

Step 1: Return to your Dock home screen and select Sections under Workspaces in the right nav bar.

Step 2: Select the section you'd like to edit.

Step 3: Select Edit section in the top right.

Just click Update and the changes will auto-populate across workspaces.

Did this answer your question?